Bulgaria in WWI

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Време
  • Show

Bulgaria in WWI

Hi all!
    I'm an Italian teacher and since I was a boy I'm very interested in Bulgarian Army (expecialy Balkan wars and WWI). I have collected some information through western sources but it is very difficult to have complete a and correct outline about Bulgarian effort in WWI in Italy. So I can offer to this forum a lot of question, but only few answers.
    I found this Forum thanks to Dibo's Bulgarian generals biographies, that are really very interesting (and can be understand even by an Italian with a little dictionary). About the organisation of Bulgarian High Command I could know more with these biographies than in years of research! Only a question about it: what calendar is used in the biographies? It is not easy to see the correct way when you have both western and Bulgarian sources.
    I would like to put a question to this Forum members.
    What was the weapons situation (artillery and machine guns) of Bulgaria Army when it entered into WWI? About this topic western sources are poor informed and contradictory. I was not even able to know how many field guns or machine guns a Bulgarian Infantry Division had in 1915. And the situation is worse for howitzers and heavy and mountain artillery. Another question. Did Bulgarian Army use slow firing guns like in 1912-13? These are a great problems, I think, because I know that Armйe d’Orient had from the beginning had a lot of modern guns.
    In January 1916 French Army alone (57e, 122e, 156e DI and 17e DIC) had :
    36 Schneider Mountain guns
    154 75mm Field guns
    48 105mm Schneider Mle. 1913 long guns
    56 120mm De Bange Mle. 1878 long guns
    24 120mm De Bange Mle. 1881/1912 short guns
    56 155mm Schneider Mle. 1877/1914 short guns
    42 trench mortars.
    And the number of guns constantly increased. What could Bulgarian Army oppose to such a power?